HEALTH ARCHIVES AND RECORDS GROUP

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Health Archives and Records Group, held on 12 May 2008 at the Berkshire Record Office, 9 Coley Avenue

Present

Vicky Rea (Royal Free Hampstead NHS Trust)

Amanda Engineer (The Wellcome Library)

Sarah Coombs (Barts and the London NHS Trust)

Jenny Haynes (Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists)

Eleanor Burgess (Healthcare Commission)
Graham Stanley (The National Archives)

Nick Baldwin (Great Ormond Street Hospital)

Vanessa Carr (The National Archives)
Angharad Meredith (University College London)
Kevin Mulley (The National Archives)

Angela Skitt (Birmingham Archives and Heritage)

1. Apologies for absence

1.1 The following apologies for absence were received:

Kevin Brown (St Mary's Hospital/Alexander Fleming Laboratory)

Gillian Alloway (Luton and Dunstable NHS Trust)

Hilary Ritchie (Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)

Michael Goodson (Wakefield District PCT)

Francis Maunze (Royal College of Psychiatrists) Frank Rankin (NHS Education for Scotland)

Fiona Watson (Northern Health Services Archive, Aberdeen) Louise Eastham (Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Trust)

Theresa Parks (Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Trust)

Jenny McDermott (National Archives Scotland)
Louise King (Royal College of Surgeons)
Samantha Farhall (Barts and the London NHS Trust)

Aileen McClintock

Kate Richardson (Barts and the London NHS Trust)
Rosie McLure (Lothian Health Services Archive)

Colin Gale (Bethlem Royal Hospital Archives and Museum)

Karen Waite (Cornwall Royal Hospitals NHS Trust)
Gordon Jones (Queen Mary's Hospital Roehampton)
Alexandra Eveleigh (West Yorkshire Archives Service)

Kath Webb (York Hospitals NHS Trust)

Steven Spencer (The Royal Star and Garter Homes)

Victoria Cranna (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine)

Catherine Redfern (Barts and the London NHS Trust)

Stephen Soanes (University of Warwick)

Katie Ormerod (Barts and the London NHS Trust)

Jonathan Evans (Royal London Hospital Archives and Museum)

2. Chair's Report

- 2.1 In the absence of Karen Waite (KJW), outgoing Chair, Jenny Haynes (JH) provided an overview of the Chairs' Report for 2007/2008, which provided an overview of work undertaken by HARG members during the year. It was noted that the report would be made available on HARG's website.
- 2.2 JH expressed thanks to:
 - Sarah Coombs and Samantha Farhall for their work in maintaining HARG's website,
 - The committee for their hard work,
 - The National Archives for their continuing help and support, and
 - Berkshire Record Office for hosting meetings on this date.
- 2.3 The committee expressed its thanks to KJW for her work as Chair over the last 2 years.

3. Elections to Committee

3.1 The members present assented to nominations received for HARG committee 2008-2009 as follows:

Colin Gale (Membership Secretary)
Eleanor Burgess (Minutes Secretary)
Karen Waite
Jenny Haynes
Catherine Redfern
Sarah Coombs
Vicky Rea
Katherine Webb
Stephen Soanes

- 3.2 It was noted that three committee places remained vacant, and that consequently up to three members may be co-opted by committee during the year.
- 3.3 It was noted that HARG is currently without a Chair, KJW being unable to continue in this role.
 - The job description for the role of Chair will be posted on HARG's website and nominations from the membership would be welcome.
 - JH has kindly agreed to act as Chair again at York if no one has come forward before then.